9: Check In

Veraa swiped the keycard through a slot at the side of the portable desk.

“Okay, Mr Smelly, what name shall I put on the booking?”

I laughed.  “How about Sam Smelly, then?”

“Oh, if you insist,” she giggled, and her dark eyes shone.  “No, seriously, what is it?”

“Morris.  Antonius Morris.”

She held the desk in one hand and typed with the other, sticking her tongue out between her teeth.  It was kind of odd to see the little pink tongue against the green skin.  “Antonius… Morris… okay.”

Doherty tapped me on the shoulder.  “Hey, I’m going to get you some gear.  Clothes, a razor, some shaving foam.”

“I’ve probably forgotten how to shave.”

“What size shirt and trousers do you wear?”

“Hundred and four chest, eighty-seven waist.”

“Any preferences?”

“No bright colours, just a shirt and pants for now.  I’ll keep these boots.”

“No problem.  You get into the shower, quickly, and I’ll be back in about half an hour.”

“It’ll take me half an hour just to get rid of this beard.  Are there any razors in the rooms?” I asked Veraa.

“I can fetch you a toiletries kit.  They’re ten plat each.”

“And the room?”

“Hundred and five plat per night.  How many nights would you like?”

“Can I pay as I go?”

Veraa hesitated and glanced at Sally, who nodded.

“And in cash?” I added.

“Oh, of course.”

I pulled the roll of notes out of my pocket and flicked off the rubber band, then unrolled three fifty platinum notes.  “Sorry, don’t have anything smaller.  I’ve been on Earth II for a while.”

“What were you doing there?”

“Prospecting for gold and copper, nothing serious.  Made a decent amount this time.”

Veraa ran the till and handed me my change.  “Ooh, well done you.  Okay, you’re in room forty-one, if you’ll just follow me.”

I waved to Doherty.  “See you in half an hour, mate.”

“Yep.  Room forty-one.”

“Thanks.  Bye.”

He nodded and walked off with Sally.  Veraa led me down a plush corridor, around a few corners, and finally to a door marked ‘41’.  She swiped the keycard for me and pushed the door open.  “All yours.  I’ll be at the desk if you need me.”

“Thanks.”

“Enjoy your shower.  Wish I could come in and, y’know, give you a hand, but I’m on duty for another couple of hours.”

I laughed.  “Well, perhaps we should go for a drink when you do finish.  I have some errands to run, once I’m clean and shaved, which will take a few hours.  How ‘bout I meet you at Club K, around nine?  That should give us both plenty of time to get ready, right?  Little more casual than that suit, maybe, though it does look very good on you.”

She smiled, grinding the toe of her shoe into the thick carpet.  “Thanks, you’re too sweet.  Sounds like a plan.  See you there at nine.”

This entry was posted in Chapters and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment