16: Check Out

I wandered back to my room and let myself in, already dialling an address number into my mobile link.  “…seven, two, bravo, x-ray, bravo, eight, eight.”

Before I linked the call, I gathered all my gear into my backpack, including the dirty clothes.  I would have to check out in half an hour, and if I could just swing this the right way I wouldn’t have to pay for a second night.

As I waited for the voice link, I sat down on the bed.

“Hello?  Who’s this?”

I smiled.  I hadn’t heard her voice in two years.  “What’s up, Crash?”

There was a long pause, but no tone to say she’d hung up.  “The hell are you thinking?  What kind of crazy idea possessed you to call me?  Better be a damn good reason.”

She didn’t sound angry, but more as though asking ‘why me?’ to the universe.  I chuckled despite myself.  “Yeah, good reason.  Vig’s in some trouble, I gotta help him out.  I’m risking a lot just calling you.”

There was another pause.  “Yeah, that’s a good enough reason for me.  Where are you?”

“Dessalines.  You?”

“Same.  Still in the same apartment as the last time you walked back into my life.  You wanna meet me up here?”

“Yeah, if that’s all right.  Look, Crash, normally I wouldn’t ask, but I’m in a little trouble myself, and—“

“Yeah, you can stay on my couch.  Come on, bring your bags up as well.”

“Thanks.  You’re a legend.”

I checked out of the Cosy Arms.  Veraa was on duty, and she said her human colleague was out to an early lunch.

“You off again?” she sighed.  “Story of my life.  Meet a nice guy, have a few drinks with him, and just when you think you’re getting to know him he jumps on a ship and you never see him again.  I haven’t had a steady relationship in months,” she added, laughing.

I laughed too.  I knew just how she felt.  “Sorry to hear that.  I’m not leaving just yet, though: I have friends here, and I’m gonna go sleep on someone’s couch.  Less comfortable, but much cheaper.  I’ve only got so much money on me.”

She smiled.  “You know, I don’t mind you sleeping at my place.  You’ll get better than a couch, though.  All you gotta do is ask.”

I thought about that for all of a microsecond.  “Oh, God, yes.  Please, don’t make me sleep at her place.  I kind of prefer living to see the next sunrise. Can I sleep at your place?”

“Of course,” she said sweetly.  “Level thirty-three, Sector Gold.  Apartment R-6.  You want to drop your bag off there now?”

I laughed.  “That’s okay, I’d rather keep it with me.  What time do you finish?”

“Six, tonight.”

“I’ll meet you outside your place just after six, then.”

“Okay, deal.  It’s gonna cost you, though.”

“I knew there was a catch,” I laughed.  “What, flowers?  Box of chocolates?”

“Mmm, I’ll figure something out when you get there.  Though I won’t say no to things like wine and chocolate.”

“You drive a hard bargain, Veraa Kulhu’ra Syrr.  I’ll see you at six.”

“You got that address?”

“Yeah.  Thirty-three, Gold, R-6.”

She looked impressed.

“More than just a pretty face,” I winked.

“Very smooth, Antonius.”

She must have seen me hesitate.  Why do Syrr’a have to be so good at reading body language?  “What’s wrong?” she frowned.

“Nothing,” I said, too quickly.

She looked a little upset.  “I had so much fun yesterday and last night, please don’t ruin it now by lying to me.”

What could it hurt to tell her?  I’d barely met her twenty-four hours ago, but already I felt like I knew her.  Hell, I told McBride and his crew within a minute of being aboard.  “My name isn’t really Antonius Morris.  I had to use a fake name for the booking.”

She snorted.  “So?  Heaps of people do that.  What’s your real name, then?”

“Sam,” I said, relieved.  “I probably shouldn’t tell you my surname, though.”

“Sam suits you way more than ‘Antonius’,” she shrugged.  “I like it.  So, are you on the run or something?  You a criminal?”

She looked like she was excited by the idea of me being a fugitive.

“No, I’m not a crook,” I laughed.  “I’m just laying low.  Some friends are looking for me, and I don’t want to be found by them right now.”

This entry was posted in Chapters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment